This site uses cookies to improve your experience of our site. If you continue we will assume you are happy with our use of cookies. Find out more here Close

print header
Qualifications » Advanced specialist diplomas

Advanced specialist diplomas

Advanced specialist diplomas consolidate the highest levels of knowledge and expertise and demonstrate evidence of expertise within a discipline, build upon the IBMS Higher Specialist Diploma and link to professional doctorates.

What can an IBMS qualification do for you?
Science, technology and best practice are constantly evolving and the Institute's qualifications allow you to update your skills and knowledge. Find out what an IBMS qualification can do for you and your career.

Advanced specialist diplomas consist of two parts:

  • Part one consists of the construction, submission and assessment of a portfolio.  This must be successfully passed before entry into part two.
  • Part two consists of a multi component assessment that is detailed in the discipline specific guidance to candidates.

Diplomas are available in cervical cytology, ophthalmic pathology and specimen dissection.

You must be an IBMS member to read all of this page and enjoy unrestricted access to

Not an IBMS member? Why not join now?

Find out more about the benefits of IBMS membership.

If you are an IBMS member please register or login:


Please note passwords are case-sensitive and you need to correctly type upper/lower letters as originally set by you.

Please note the members' area times out after 25 minutes of inactivity for security reasons.