Institute of Biomedical Science 12 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 5HL

Tel: 020 7713 0214 E-mail: mail@ibms.org Website: www.ibms.org



Chief Executive David Wells MSc FIBMS CSci Hon DSc FRCPath (Hon)

Minutes of the eighty first Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Biomedical Science held in the Ted Theatre, The Catalyst, 3 Science Square, Newcastle Helix, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 5TG

and via Zoom Webinar on Saturday 3rd June 2023 at 11.30

Present: Mrs D Padgett (President and Chair)

Mrs J Andrew (President Elect)

Mr G McNair (Treasurer)
Mr D Wells (Chief Executive)

Plus a further 33 members with voting rights

In attendance – Executive staff:

Mr M Finnie Dr S Jones Ms S May

Apologies: Mrs Angela Jean-Francois

Dr Victoria Bradley Mr Matthew Smith

The notice of the meeting was taken as read and the minutes of the Annual General Meeting that took place on 11 June 2022 were accepted and signed as a true record.

1. Annual Report and Accounts

The Annual Report of the Institute of Biomedical Science for 2022 and the accounts for the twelve months ended 31st December 2022 were received together with the report of the auditors.

The Chair gave a sample of some of the achievements of the Institute in 2022. Full details of those achievements and activities can be found in the Annual Report.

The Treasurer made a presentation on the accounts for the year ended 31 December 2022.

Acceptance of the Annual Report and accounts were proposed by Mr Glen McDowell and seconded by Mr Colin Mudd.

The proposal was carried.

2. Auditors

Haysmacintyre LLP, Chartered Accountants, were re-appointed to serve as auditors for the ensuing year and it was agreed that their remuneration be fixed by the Council.

Proposed by Mr Charles Houston and seconded by Mr McDowell.

The proposal was carried.

3. Council Elections

National member of Council

The Chair announced that two national members were due to retire at the close of the AGM, namely, Mrs Zonya Jeffrey and Mr Charles Houston.

Two nominations were received from the following corporate members: Mrs Zonya Jeffrey and Mr Charles Houston.

The Chair announced that Mrs Zonya Jeffrey and Mr Charles Houston were deemed duly elected national Council members of Council, without the requirement for a ballot, to take office from the conclusion of the meeting for a term of three years.

Regional members of Council

The Chair announced that two regional members were due to retire at the close of the AGM, namely Dr Jane Needham for the South East and Dr Victoria Bradley for Wales. There was also a vacancy for the Yorkshire regional seat as the nominated Council member for Yorkshire, Mrs Joanna Andrew, was elected President Elect and stepped down from her seat.

Nominations were received from the following corporate members: Dr Victoria Bradley for Wales and Mr Azuma Kalu for Yorkshire. No nominations were received for the South East.

The Chair confirmed that Dr Victoria Bradley and Mr Azuma Kalu were deemed duly elected regional members of Council, without the requirement for a ballot, to take office from the conclusion of the meeting for a term of three years and two years respectively.

The Chair congratulated the newly appointed and returning Council members.

4. Special Resolution

TO CONSIDER AND, IF THOUGHT FIT, TO PASS THE FOLLOWING SPECIAL RESOLUTION PROPOSED BY THE COUNCIL:

The special resolution that Professor Allan Wilson be elected Vice-President of the Institute was introduced by the Chair.

The resolution was proposed by Professor Keith Hyde and seconded by Ms Sarah May.

The Chair called a poll on the Special Resolution, which was approved by the required majority. The Chair announced that the resolution had been carried unanimously.

There being no further business the Chair declared the meeting closed.