Advancing Healthcare Awards 2022

Advancing Healthcare Awards 2022
6 December 2021
The national Advancing Healthcare Awards 2022 are now open for nominations

The Advancing Healthcare Awards recognise and celebrate the work of allied health professionals, healthcare scientists and those who work alongside them in support roles, leading innovative healthcare practice across the UK. Submitting an entry into the Awards presents a unique opportunity to shine a spotlight on the amazing work of our dedicated profession.

The IBMS is sponsoring the Advancing Healthcare Award for Biomedical Scientist of the Year 2022. The category celebrates an exceptional biomedical scientist who has used their skills and expertise to advance practice in an innovative and impactful way, making a real difference to patients’ lives and inspiring those around them.

How to apply

To be considered for the Biomedical Scientist of the Year award, nominees must be a HCPC registered Biomedical Scientist practising within the UK. You may nominate yourself, a colleague, or suggest that they nominate themselves.

Nominees must be able to show evidence of:

  • Measurable achievements
  • Leadership and team working
  • Impact on patient care
Important dates

September 2021
Nominations open 

17 January 2022
Deadline for submissions

January 2022
Successful candidates will be notified

8 April 2022
Celebration Lunch and Awards Ceremony

We would like to encourage our members to nominate themselves or any strong candidate they know. For more information and top tips for entering visit the AHA website.

Previous winners: Biomedical Scientist of the Year

In 2021 the award was presented to IBMS member Dr Sarah Pitt for her role in sharing fact-checked, professional and scientific information about COVID-19 on behalf of IBMS members and the biomedical science profession throughout the pandemic.

In 2020 the award was presented to IBMS member Dr Guy Orchard for his innovative work and contributions to patient care.

In 2019 the award was presented to IBMS member Dr Jo Horne for pushing the boundaries of the profession.

In 2018 the award was presented to IBMS member Malcolm Robinson for his Harvey's Gang charity project. 

Back to news listing