Announcing our biomedical science champions

Announcing our biomedical science champions
20 June 2019
It’s Biomedical Science Day! To celebrate, we’re announcing our Regional Champions of Biomedical Science

Biomedical laboratory staff across the UK have been nominating their Champions who, in the past year, have shown dedication to the promotion, development and delivery of excellence in biomedical science. Shortlists and winners were chosen by our IBMS region and council representatives in liaison with the IBMS.

As IBMS Chief Executive Jill Rodney explains:

“We launched Champions of Biomedical Science to celebrate one member in each region who goes above and beyond the call of duty. Our dedicated Champions are out there every day developing people, delivering services and promoting the profession – all with a gold standard of excellence. Their appreciative colleagues have nominated them so that we can all recognise their efforts and celebrate their contributions.”

Our Champions will receive an award, certificate and a day pass to attend Congress 2019 which will be presented at this year’s event.  The best runners up will also each receive IBMS goodie bags.

This year’s twelve Champions are listed below. We would like to thank those who took the time to nominate them and explain in detail why these exemplary IBMS members deserve their awards. We are incredibly proud of the great work of all the nominees but none more so than these twelve who consistently go out and put the IBMS’s hopes for our profession’s standards into action.

Each Champion of Biomedical Science, some of whom were nominated multiple times, has a short quote beside their name which explains the nature of their contribution to the profession. They are communicators, mentors and leaders. They are kind, wise and devoted. We all owe something to Champions like these:

East Anglia          Selwa Alsam                      “dedicated to supporting students”

East Midlands      Caroline Parkes                 “fantastic role model”

Ireland                  Una Porter                         “the backbone of microbiology”

London                 Bamidele Farinre               “inspiring younger generations”

North East            Charlotte Ewing                 “enormous enthusiasm for her job and the profession”

North West           Stephen McDonald            “a champion of the workforce of the future”

Scotland               Rebecca Wright                 “an inspiration to us all”

South East            Malcolm Robinson             “building Harvey’s Gang, everywhere”

South West           Sarah Brownsteen            “going above and beyond her role”

Wales                    Hayley Pincott                   “rare to see such motivation and enthusiasm”

West Midlands      Geoff Trew                         “devoted to the profession”

Yorkshire               Chrisy Yates                      “promoted the profession for over forty years”

We would also like to give honourable mentions to some excellent runners-up: Claire Marshall (East Anglia), Valerie Hinch (Ireland), Glen McDowell (Ireland), Gayatri Chohan (North West), Tahmina Hussein (North West), Siobhan Tayor (South West), Helen Done (West Midlands) and Joanne Motte (West Midlands).

Congratulations to you all – and, equally, thank you!

Back to news listing