The Healthcare Science Awards are open for nominations

The Healthcare Science Awards are open for nominations
6 December 2018
Nominate yourself for the 2019 Healthcare Science Awards

Do you have a colleague who deserves recognition? Have you or your team’s projects directly affected patient care or improved the workforce? Put your nominations in now for the 2019 Healthcare Science Awards.

Now in their 13th year, these awards celebrate the contributions and achievements of the healthcare science workforce and the impact they have on patient outcomes.

The award categories include

  • Healthcare Scientist of the Year
  • Healthcare Science Rising Star
  • Healthcare Science Partnering Patients and Citizens Award
  • CSO Shirley Fletcher Apprenticeship Award
  • Excellence in Healthcare Delivery Award
  • Excellence in Health Research and Innovation
  • Excellence in Workforce Development

You can nominate yourself or a colleague online. Winners will be announced at the 2019 Chief Scientific Officer’s (CSO) annual conference.

Last year saw a number of IBMS members shortlisted and Chloe Lockwood, Keith Hyde and Ian Davies won awards, where they met HRH Princess Anne, The Princess Royal.

Chloe said,                                                         

"The awards are an excellent way for showcasing and recognising the work that healthcare scientists do in the NHS. It was an honour to be invited to the ceremony, share the evening with brilliant people, and an even bigger honour to receive the award! It was a great experience to represent Biomedical Scientists across the NHS and Leeds Teaching Hospitals along with all the other nominees and award winners.”

Keith added,

“As a life member of the IBMS and having left school with 4 GCSEs, it has been a privilege to serve for 53 years in the public sector, including 50 years in the NHS. Young members of the IBMS should think ‘if he can do it, so can I.”

For more information about the award categories, see the Healthcare Science Awards website. The deadline for nominations is Monday 14 January 2019. Should you have any questions about the awards, contact Harriet Sheridan.

We encourage all of our members to enter these awards and gain recognition for their achievements.

Back to news listing